Where Vaping Is Illegal

There are a number of nations that have banned vaping. Period. Made it illegal. And in some cases, you can end up in jail for using an e-cigarette.

Part of this is due to the World Health Organization (WHO), which believes that the process of heating e-juice “may contribute to the formation of toxicants in the emissions.” See The World Health Organization’s War on Vaping for more information on WHO and its anti-vaping stance.

Some countries have an across-the-board ban on vaping, while others only restrict vaping with nicotine. Some ban sale of e-cigarettes and e-juice but not their possession or use by individuals. And some will fine you or maybe even throw you in jail for vaping or bringing vaping product into the country.

This is a moving target, but the information is as accurate as we could find in February 2018.

Countries Where Vaping or Vaping with Nicotine Is Banned

  • Argentina: Sale, importation, and delivery of product is banned. Use of e-cigs discouraged.
  • Austria: E-liquid containing nicotine is considered a medicinal product and may not be sold without a license.
  • Bahrein: Vaping and importing e-cigarettes is banned.
  • Brazil: Sale, importation, and advertising are forbidden. Fines for those caught vaping.
  • Brunei: Sale and importation are banned, but vaping is not explicitly prohibited. Fines for vaping in a non-smoking area range from $300 to $500.
  • Cambodia: E-cigarettes are illegal.
  • Denmark: E-cigarettes with nicotine are considered medicinal products and must be authorized for sale. No such authorization has yet taken place.
  • East Timor: E-cigs are banned.
  • Estonia: E-liquid with more than 0.7mg/ml is considered medicine and must be licensed, which has not happened yet.
  • Hong Kong: Up to 2 years in prison and a fine of p to HK$100,000 for having an e-cigarette or e-juice containing nicotine, which is considered to be a poison. Hong Kong is considering a total ban on vaping.
  • India: E-cigs are not clearly classified on a national level but are outlawed in a number of states including Jammu, Kashmir, Karnataka, Punjab, Maharashtra, and Kerala. In 2016, the state of Punjab sentenced a man to 3 years and a fine of Rs. 1 Lakh for having one e-cigarette and 8 cartridges in his possession.
  • Indonesia: E-cigarettes are illegal but are sold openly in tourist areas. Vaping gear may be confiscated when you enter the country.
  • Japan: Vaping with nicotine is illegal. Visitors can only bring 120ml into the country.
  • Jordan: Importation and sale of e-cigs is banned.
  • Malaysia: There is no national policy on vaping, but the states of Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Negeri, Terengganu, and Sembilan ban their sale. Vaping is illegal in parks, gas stations, and public buildings in Selangor and could result in a $2,300 fine or two years in prison.
  • Oman: Sale of e-cigarettes banned.
  • Panama: Importation, distribution, and sale of e-cigarettes are illegal.
  • Qatar: Sale and importation is banned.
  • Singapore: Vaping is completely banned with fines up to $5,000 for the first offense.
  • Taiwan: E-cigs are considered a regulated drug.
  • Thailand: Vaping may result in a fine and up to 10 years in prison.
  • United Arab Emirates: Sale and import are illegal and product will be confiscated when you enter the country.
  • Uruguay: Sale of e-cigs is banned.
  • Vietnam: Use and sale of vaping supplies is illegal.

Countries Where Vaping Is Legal but Restricted

In general, it is illegal to sell e-cigarettes containing nicotine to minors, the specific age ranging from 16 to 21. Sometimes the ban extends to e-cigarettes without nicotine as well. We do not list countries that ban either type of sale to minors because such bans are so common or due to banning advertising.

  • Australia: Vaping is legal in all states except Queensland, where e-liquid containing nicotine is banned.
  • Belgium: Cartridges containing no more than 2ml of nicotine and a level no higher than 20mg/ml is allowed.
  • Croatia: E-cigarettes are classified as tobacco products and banned in all public enclosed facilities and all public buildings.
  • Finland: E-cigs containing nicotine are regulated as cigarettes, and devices that look like cigarettes cannot be marketed, but nicotine-free e-juice can be sold.
  • France: French Health Law has a list of places where vaping is prohibited, and violation can result in a fine of €150 or more.
  • Hungary: Maximum volume per device or bottle of e-juice containing nicotine is 10ml, and they can only be purchased in official National Tobacco Shops. Packaging must warn that nicotine is addictive.
  • Mexico: Use of e-cigarettes is legal, but selling, trading, distribution, production, and promotion of e-cigs and related products are strictly regulated.
  • New Zealand: Vaping products containing nicotine are banned from sale. A consumer may import product containing nicotine for personal use.
  • Norway: Nicotine cartridges can only be imported from EEA member states.
  • Poland: Marketing, online sales, and vending machines are prohibited, as is their use in hospitals and public transportation. Fine of up to 500 zloty (about €118).
  • Switzerland: Use of product containing nicotine is allowed, but product containing nicotine may not be sold in Switzerland.
  • Turkey:  E-cigarettes are considered tobacco products and restricted accordingly. Vaping is specifically banned on high-speed trains.

Countries Considering Tighter Regulation of Vaping

  • Philippines: Vaping is not currently regulated, but that may change, according to the Department of Health.
  • South Africa: Vaping is not currently regulated but may be put under the country’s Tobacco Products Control Amendment Act.


keywords: #vaping #ecigarettes #vapingban #vapingillegal

short link: https://goo.gl/vot9KT